Home | Television | Movies | Music | Other Media | Community | Sports | Arcade | Tech | Help
  MyMedia-Forum.com > Gaming > Gaming General Discussion > GAMING Quick Question Thread

Gaming General Discussion Discuss video games and video game systems.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-08, 12:29 AM   #21
LPU
Muffin Man
Squishes the Frog
 
LPU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Going to a wedding.
Posts: 21,865
Send a message via AIM to LPU
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

We fall into the casual mode, I guess, and ours only has a 10 Gb hd and it seems more than up to the tasks that we put it through. Now, I know the base model doesn't have a hd at all, but if you get it and decide later that you need one you can always add on then.
__________________
LPU is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 01:22 AM   #22
Brian
Admirer of Sweaty Kate
Drinks Dharma Beer
 
Brian's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia, US
Posts: 44,778
Send a message via Yahoo to Brian
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

If it doesn't have one at all, it'll still play all of the games, right? If that's the case, then what's the purpose behind it even having a HD? I honestly don't know because I've never even looked at one before so this is all new to me.
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 01:51 AM   #23
LPU
Muffin Man
Squishes the Frog
 
LPU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Going to a wedding.
Posts: 21,865
Send a message via AIM to LPU
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Game save data takes room as does the Xbox browser or whatever it is. Just how much all of that adds up to I dunno. Think we may need Bud for this one. You can save music, pics, etc. too if you're so inclined, and dload games to the hd for quicker loading and what not.
__________________
LPU is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 02:40 AM   #24
Brian
Admirer of Sweaty Kate
Drinks Dharma Beer
 
Brian's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia, US
Posts: 44,778
Send a message via Yahoo to Brian
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Ah, I see. I figured that's what it was for but wasn't sure. You say that one can be added, or upgraded, later? That wouldn't be such a bad idea if it's possible. It'd be really nice if an external HD could be hooked up to it.

I'm assuming the xBox is like the Wii in the way it connects to the Internet? I have my Wii running through my Airport basestation (router) so I don't have any type of cable running to it and it works great.

ETA - The reason I ask about the Internet connection is because the xBox would be in a different room from my Wii and computers.
__________________

Last edited by Brian; 12-21-08 at 02:45 AM.
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 02:46 AM   #25
LPU
Muffin Man
Squishes the Frog
 
LPU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Going to a wedding.
Posts: 21,865
Send a message via AIM to LPU
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Yes. Our first one crapped out awhile ago, so when we went to get the replacement we just got the el cheapo seeing as how we had the hd from the first. Just slaps right on the outside. And yeah (kinda) to the internet. You can go wireless but it's not built-in and I think the wireless adapter is kind of pricey. $100 I believe, although maybe someone can point you towards alternate methods. Ha, we actually have a big ass cable running here to there.
__________________
LPU is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 02:51 AM   #26
foxxie

Muffin Queen
Squishes the Frog
 
foxxie's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: sitting with mah snoogy-woogy.
Posts: 24,313
Send a message via AIM to foxxie Send a message via Yahoo to foxxie
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Brian, Sean says to tell you that you also need hd space if you are going to download extra maps for games and Rock Band songs and the like.
__________________
Going to Canada. BBL.
foxxie is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 03:51 AM   #27
Brian
Admirer of Sweaty Kate
Drinks Dharma Beer
 
Brian's Avatar
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia, US
Posts: 44,778
Send a message via Yahoo to Brian
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Cool, thanks.
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 04:08 AM   #28
LPU
Muffin Man
Squishes the Frog
 
LPU's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Going to a wedding.
Posts: 21,865
Send a message via AIM to LPU
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Either way you go it will be nice to have someone else online that I never get to play games with.
__________________
LPU is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 06:13 AM   #29
Budman
Earned Rose's Scorn
Sees Walt
 
Budman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,861
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post
If it doesn't have one at all, it'll still play all of the games, right? If that's the case, then what's the purpose behind it even having a HD? I honestly don't know because I've never even looked at one before so this is all new to me.
My recommendation is; if you don't know what you're going to need, be safe and go with the 60GB model (if you can find a 20GB model, fair enough have at it). While you may not see yourself using the HDD at the moment, it won't take long to possibly find a need for it later on.

Having said that, the Arcade is a very safe bet. It's a no-compromise solution. You may not feel it's necessary to have, or that you can afford the additional $100 for the HDD at the moment. That's the nice thing about the Arcade is that you have all the same capabilities as any other Xbox 360 model, but you can add a HDD when you want.
Budman is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-21-08, 06:20 AM   #30
Budman
Earned Rose's Scorn
Sees Walt
 
Budman's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,861
Re: GAMING Quick Question Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locke Push-Ups View Post
Game save data takes room as does the Xbox browser or whatever it is. Just how much all of that adds up to I dunno. Think we may need Bud for this one. You can save music, pics, etc. too if you're so inclined, and dload games to the hd for quicker loading and what not.
Game Save data can be saved to memory units (cards).

Previously with the Xbox 360 Arcade and Core models, Microsoft included a memory unit. They have since discontinued that. New "Jasper" models now include a 256MB FlashRAM drive (SSD), which the NXE in part is installed to. There is about 112MB free however.

But the bottom line is, Microsoft says for Online Play, a HDD is required. Certainly to use most downloaded content you would need a HDD.
Budman is offline   Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply
« MyMedia-Forum.com > Gaming > Gaming General Discussion »


Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


» Latest Posts: All Discussion Forums
Title, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Forum
The Walking Dead - Vonne First-Watch ( 1 2 3... Last Page)
vonnegut
Today 04:22 AM
by boonian androphile
39 Featured TV General
2017-2018 NFL Pro Football Pick'ems ( 1 2 3... Last Page)
Brian
Today 02:22 AM
by Peggy Sawyer
82 Sports Discussion
The Exorcist - FOX Friday ( 1 2 3... Last Page)
sandi
Today 02:03 AM
by FrodoFraggins
33 Featured TV General
Rate The Last Movie You Watched ( 1 2 3... Last Page)
Scott
Today 01:59 AM
by FrodoFraggins
3,635 Movies General Discussion
What's New/Chairing Under the Influence ( 1 2 3... Last Page)
catnap
Today 01:13 AM
by gertie
9,657 Lostaways! :)
» Online Users: 232
4 members and 228 guests
Dark Side Of The Moon, ollie, Peggy Sawyer
Most users ever online was 26,316, 05-12-14 at 11:02 AM.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.0

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:56 AM.

Graphic Design by Crazy Creative
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.